Dissection

Analyze my work! This is a dare!
Go ahead! Scavenge and tear!
Taste and devour! It is your own choice.
You can destroy my work, but not silence my voice!
I can say what I want, but that’s not my goal.
It is instead to express heart and soul,
To say my emotions in words if I can,
To state my morals, and explain where I stand.
It matters not if you disagree
Opinions were, are, and always will be
Open to discussion; firm, yet not fact;
Able to persuade when stated with tact,
And they cause fights and bond us together.
I’ll stop here, but I could go on forever!
The point is, what I’m trying to say
For once would you please, just keep away!
Let my work speak for itself
It can, you know, without all your help.
Don’t give depth where none was before
And skip over meaning you wish to ignore.
My message in this is really quite plain
Adding to my words would drive us both insane.

Leave a comment