The Water Test

In my boat so safe and secure
Nothing could happen of that I am sure
Miracles rock me and adventures do shake
But I’ll stay in my boat as long as it takes.

Bored in my ship as I gaze at the sea
I wonder, “What’s missing?  What’s wrong with me?”
I’m drawn to the waves that crash on my boat
But water is wet and I know I can’t float.

Someone is walking on top of the foam
He calls me to leave the comforts of home
To leave my boat, so warm and inviting
And walk on the waves with Him through the lightning.

It’s crazy I know to walk on the sea
Common sense lets me know it can’t happen to me
But my feet got wet as I stepped off that ship
And that Man held my hand so I couldn’t slip.

I saw the face of the One with my hand
His eyes held the power that graced me to stand
His words gave me life as He started to speak
“Keep your eyes on Me and you will never sink.”

I look into His eyes as I looked into them then
So full of wonder that He asked me to stand
To walk on the water outside of my boat
To stand where I know I can’t possibly float!

Your boat is in that very same sea
So come on, get out, start walking with me
Or don’t you believe in the power of God,
To keep you floating where He leads you to trod.

3 thoughts on “The Water Test

  1. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.
    I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back down the road.

    I want to encourage that you continue your great work, have
    a nice morning!

  2. Pingback: Called as God’s Chosen Child | One Not Alone.

Leave a comment