Appreciate the small things (aka Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details)

A few years ago I was living on a different continent, away from home, and a few timezones from my family. I missed seeing them, but was never homesick. I think part of it had to do with all the little things that reminded me of home. Like my photo for this week’s photo challenge:Appreciate the small thingsThis is of a purple hydrangea. I hadn’t seen any outside of my home before. Usually they grow either blue or pink, but it takes a special mix of acidic and base dirt to make one purple. Too much of either and you get the pink extreme or the blue extreme. This little detail is one of many that kept me from being homesick while so far away. I hope you like it (:

7 thoughts on “Appreciate the small things (aka Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details)

  1. Hi,
    The color and the softness of this photo are very comforting. I can relate with being away; I am an expat. Yes, little things are indeed powerful.

    • Totally! I wonder if that might be part of the power, the fact that they are little. So small and unexpected, their comfort just sneak attacks us! Thank you for commenting :)

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost In The Details | Flickr Comments

  3. Pingback: Photo Challenge: Lost In The Details | Woven Decor

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details | Rebecca Barray

Leave a Reply

