Acrylic Nail Art Tutorial: Sea Foam Green

20120820-113059.jpg

Somewhere I saw the idea of using acrylic paint on nail polish followed by a top coat to paint your nails. It was probably either pinterest or youtube. It’s probably also pinned on my Nailed board for nail art, but that’s beside the point.

The point is I tried it out last Saturday and it works!! I was so surprised!! It’s such a good idea too. Imagine the cost that can be saved. Instead of many bottles of shades of one color nail polish, all I needed were bottles of black, white, and some other color (all of which were bought for under $1… take that nail polish people!) to get every shade imaginable of that color! Oh the possibilities make me happy :) The clean up is nice too. Soap and water and all the extra color on my hands is gone. Super fast. And the paint dries quickly. And it is durable. And if I mess up mid-painting, a little water lets me start over. And it doesn’t smell as bad. And it’s pretty. And….. you get the point.

~~~ Tutorial ~~~

Materials:
Acrylic paint (there is an endless range of colors, glitter paints, glow-in-the-dark paints, neons, etc.. check them out and get creative)
Clear nail polish
Paint brush
Water (to rinse brushes)
Cloth to wipe brushes on (I use a paper towel)
Plate, paper, board, or something else to mix colors on and put paint on

Instructions:

20120820-112957.jpg

1) First add a clear coat to your nails. This gives the acrylic something to stick to and it protects your nail. I used a clear strengthener coat. Be sure to let it dry before you move on to the next step.

20120820-112949.jpg

2) Next start your painting. I used a sea foam green color because it’s one of my favorites. Use whatever color you like. And try mixing them. It’s about creative expression on your fingers, so express yourself!

20120820-112941.jpg

20120820-112933.jpg

20120820-113013.jpg

3) If you are doing an accent nail then leave it blank like I did. Accent nails are just fun and that’s why I do them :)

20120820-113004.jpg

4) You may need two coats of paint on your nail. If you notice my thumb from the picture two above has this streaky look that I didn’t like. It needed a second coat like the fingers shown above.

20120820-113021.jpg

5) Accent nail. If you don’t want an accent nail then skip this step and paint it like the others. If you do want one, it’s time to decide what you want to do. For mine, I mixed a little white in with the blue green. See:

20120820-113030.jpg

It’s an accent nail!! (This is where the oooo’s and ahhhh’s can be heard) Pretty :)

20120820-113038.jpg

6) Finally it’s time for a clear coat. Don’t worry that it changes the color of the nail because it’s suppose to do that. It should go from this dry looking paint to a wet shiny color. Kinda like gloss.

20120820-113044.jpg

20120820-113052.jpg

7) This is my second favorite step (my favorite is the acrylic painting). Once the clear coat is dry, wash your hands with soap and water. Most, if not all, of the acrylic should come off your hands leaving a perfect nail job. Notice the difference from the picture above to the one below. The time in between was maybe 5 minutes. Pretty cool, huh?

Note: there may be a little color around the edges if your clear coat went over too much.

Let me know if you try it out! I’ve really loved this more than any other nail polish I’ve tried. Please post some pictures and share your thoughts :) I think I’m going to try designs with it next!

20120820-113107.jpg

Leave a Reply

