Quotes that blew me away via Twitter

I heard these in church this morning. So many times I get caught up in the here and now. “You only live once” kinda stuff. But life is so much more than that. I believe in eternity, that life on earth is just a blink of the life that is forever. I also believe that what I do now determines the rest of my life. It’s like another quote I heard on Thursday:

“The younger generation is the most cause driven, mission minded generation in recent history. You don’t want a job, you want a calling.” – Craig Groeschel

That’s me. That’s my generation. I don’t want just a job to go to work, come home, sleep, go back, come home, sleep, blah blah blah. I want to do something more than that!!! I’ve done more than that and I don’t want to get complacent. I spent two summers living in Wales during college for this reason. While there I helped run kids camps, teach Bible studies, participate in sport activities, and various other things with four local churches. The goal was to spread some light and positivity in a depressed place. I want to do that again. AND I don’t care where I end up living to spread that love: States, UK, Europe, Asia, Middle East, Pacific Islands, Northern Africa, Central America….. it keeps going. I just want to do something.

The way to help that spoke to me the biggest this morning was giving. I already give people time, energy, love, and sometimes money. But the money part has always been the hardest. Now don’t get me wrong, my pastor wasn’t talking about giving all my money to his church. He was saying do SOMETHING good with it. Don’t just horde it for myself. Feed hungry children, give water to those without, smile to people, help someone, DO something. It isn’t a money issue; it’s a heart issue. And sometimes my heart is downright selfish.

Here are three groups that I’ve given to in the last year: Sevenly, Ssekos, and African Childrens Project if you want to check them out. Today I’ve been challenged to give more. What have you been challenged with?

Leave a Reply

