Doodling with Thread…

In my post about things that didn’t seem to go together I mentioned “Embroidery and Tax.” Unfortunately, everyone knows what tax is so no examples need be given of that particular profession. However, embroidery is an entirely different animal. It seems to be an almost lost craft that has recently come bursting forth back into life. I had never seen it before the spring of last year, when my mum bought a quilting book that happened to have a section on embroidery. That is a long way to say that I love it!! It satisfies my love of sketching and coloring while creating long-term projects that are actually useful! Perfect?? Yes.

This is my very first block. I was so happy with it that I framed and photographed it.Here are some close-ups of the individual areas:

It is hanging on the wall as I type. The original purpose for this thread doodle was to quilt several squares together into a crazy lap quilt. But that idea quickly left as soon as I pressed my hand on those tiny glass beads…. not a pleasant impression to cuddle up with. My newest blocks (only one of which has been finished) have no beads or buttons or any other hard object that could leave an interesting impression in one’s hand (or face if you happened to nap just right.) As soon as my camera becomes unbroken, my foreign object-less blocks will be posted.

Hooray for thread doodles!

2 thoughts on “Doodling with Thread…

  1. That is lovely. i love how you emphasized some of the flower and couple detail!. I agree it is better framed on a wall. Those Beads/Buttons impressions wouldn’t look very fetching on some unsuspectiong forehead…lol

    • thank you! one of my favorite things is to find those little fabric pictures that end up in a square. Some of them are intentional but this one wasn’t. Felt like a successful treasure hunter to find it!

Leave a Reply

